|| Hesseh Abayas || What Fairy Tales Are Made Of

Being a woman who wears an ‘Abaya herself I like to keep on top of Abaya & Hijab trends.

Just as I can spend hours and hours traipsing around town shopping till my feet scream in agony, I can similarly squander away hours browsing through online Abaya fashion –  and I must confess, more often than not I find myself in a familiar sticky situation.

Ever recall yourself as a young child with your nose pressed tight against the ominous glass windows of a glorious sweet shop? Tummy growling, eyes as large as saucers gazing onto an array of colourful sweet treats – that exhilarating sense of excitement, trepidation and longing buzzing through your entire being?

Well…with the advent of the internet and the evolution of Abaya fashion I find myself in exactly the same situation. Yes i’ve grown up but not much has changed – except that  Abayas are my new object of desire..

Just when you thought you had seen it all along comes a designer with a new ideology concept and principles – and that’s exactly what I adore about fashion. There’s no boundaries. it’s wholely versatile.

Hesseh Abaya Couture
Website | Facebook | Twitter

My recent object…perhaps I should says objects…of desire are the Abaayaat from the newest Hesseh Haute Couture Collection. Like many other homegrown couture designers Hessa al-Obaidilis journey began at home in 2008.

“I realized that wherever I go, women would constantly ask me where I made my Abaya.” says Hessa.

Since then she’s progressed beyond expectations. Whilst I loved her previous collections her latest Spring Summer 2011 collection is simply…delicious.
Shot in the picturesque Gardens of Ninfa (Rome) everything is picture perfect – greenery, foliage, roses and ruins…looking through the photos you can just envision gorgeous nymphs and seductive sirens dancing around. I couldn’t help but notice her tweet revealing that these babies are the fruits of 5 months of hard labour; God you can tell – they’re divine.It took me a very long time to select my favourites and after much deliberating I was able to narrow it down to these beauties.

Yes you can be the belle of the ball!
This black silk abaya layered with a nude and lace accent will leave you feeling just like a princess…

Gold with a pop of turqoise chiffon. I dare you to find a fault.

This is definitely one of my favourites..no wait, thats a lie, all of the ones i’ve shortpicked are my favourites. I love the black lace complimenting the grey silk and drape. Classy!

I can’t even string up a comment for this. Just breath-taking.

What do you think of Hessehs’ Abayas? Which one is your favourite?To view the entire collection click here

7 thoughts on “|| Hesseh Abayas || What Fairy Tales Are Made Of

  1. Ok, can I just say WOW! How much I would like to have abayas named (on Hesseh website) HSS12_01 and -preferred of all would be- HSS12_12 ..!! I also like HSS12_03, but somehow I find that one a bit provocative.. Prolly just me.

    Hugs, S.

    • Lol i know how you feel!

      I think being forced to choose JUST ONE is too mean!

      Like putting a gooey chocolate cake infront of a fat child and saying just look, no touching 😛

  2. Hi reem, This is Hessa AL Obaidli the designer and owner of HESSEH Abaya Haute Couture. I am sorry dear as I couldn’t reply your request on twitter lately because I was very busy at that time. I really appreciate your great work of presenting HESSEH in this amazing post. Thanks a lot dear for your interest in HESSEH Couture.

Leave a Reply

